Perth will host the 2nd Australasian Exploration Geoscience Conference (AEGC) from Monday 2 to Thursday 5 September 2019 at Crown Perth.

The AEGC is the largest petroleum and mineral geoscience conference in Australasia, and incorporates the West Australian Basin Symposium (WABS) and the ASEG-PESA International Geophysical Conference and Exhibition.

The event will be jointly hosted by the Australian Institute of Geoscientists (AIG), Australian Society of Exploration Geophysicists (ASEG), and Petroleum Exploration Society of Australia (PESA).

The theme for the 2019 conference is “Data to Discovery”. The AEGC technical program committee has a focus on Geology, Geophysics, and Geochemistry and how these are applied in exploration for both Petroleum and Mineral systems in Australasia and the wider Asia-Pacific region. The conference has major sub-themes encompassing but not limited to:

  • New technologies
  • New information from old data
  • Local understanding from regional context
  • Workflows and methods that reduce cost/turnaround on projects
  • Cross disciplinary co-ordination
  • Case studies
  • Interacting and communicating science to the wider community.

A vital component of the 2019 conference will be the inclusion of dedicated streams for Australian basins, discovery techniques, mineral mapping, and remote sensing applications.

On behalf of the AEGC 2019 Organising Committee, we look forward to welcoming you to Perth.

John Gorter

Tim Dean

Key Dates

Call for abstracts open 31 August 2018
Call for abstracts close 30 November 2018
Registration opens 1 March 2019
Extended Abstract Submission Deadline 30 April 2019
Early bird registration closes 31 May 2019

Conference Countdown

AEGC 2019 Conference Organising Committee

Tim Dean – Co-Chair (ASEG)
John Gorter – Co-Chair (PESA)
Cameron Adams – Student / Young Professional Chair
Deidre Brooks – Field Trip Chair
Andrew Buffin – Workshops & Short Courses Co-Chair
Helen Debenham – Technical Program Chair
Lendyn Philip – Secretary and Social Event Chair
Maud Kay – Publicity & Marketing Chair
Glen Neeves – Treasurer (AIG)
Donna Sewell – Sponsorship & Exhibition Co-Chair
Heather Tompkins – Sponsorship & Exhibition Co-Chair
Anne Tomlinson – Special Conference Editor
Chris Wijns – Workshops & Short Courses Co-Chair

Co-Hosted by